Born in Amsterdam, Netherlands, Lars was introduced to the saxophone at the age of 10. After performing a duo TV show with famed Jazz pianist Herbie Hancock, Dietrich decided to pursue a career in music. At the age of fifteen he got accepted to study saxophone at the Conservatory of Amsterdam. In 2005 after completing his Masters in Music degree in Amsterdam Lars received a full scholarship from Manhattan School of Music, Dietrich moved to New York and studied under Dick Oatts and David Liebman.

As a leader Dietrich released his well reviewed 2009 debut album ‘Breek de Grond’and his 2011 Solo album ‘Stand Alone’. Dietrich also co leads the band ‘The Story’, a collaborative group including Samir Zarif (tenor saxophone), John Escreet (Piano), Zack Lober (bass) and Greg Ritchie (drums).

Venues and festivals Dietrich performed at as a leader and with The Story include. North Sea Jazz Festival, Town Hall (NY), Iridium, The Jazz Gallery, Bimhuis, The 55Bar, Smalls, Jazz at Lincoln Center’ and Carnegie hall.

As well as tours throughout Canada, Europe and the United States and live radio broadcasts for CBC Radio, VPRO, With ‘The Story’ Lars taught masterclasses at Queens College, University of New Orleans, McGill University, Humber College, York University, Loyola University, St. Francis Xavier University, and was artist-in-residence for the Guimaraes Jazz Festival.

Currently Lars performs with his electronic based band, concentrating on beat oriented music in combination with saxophone and drums. He also is in collaboration with Dutch guitarist Marzio Scholten.

Next to his own band Lars also performed with Herbie Hancock, Jason Marsalis, Billy Hart, Dan Weiss, Nate Smith, Tyshawn Sorey, Gerald Clayton, Thomas Morgan, Ambrose Akinmusire, Robin Eubanks, Ravi Coltrane, Ben Monder, Pete Philly, Matt Stevens, Mike Moreno, Joe Lovano, David Binney, Phil Markowitz.

For his achievements Lars Dietrich received the ‘Julian van Dijk’ award (granted only to the best student throughout The Netherlands), the ‘Prins Bernhard Cultuurfonds’ Scholarship and the ‘FAPK’ Scholarship. May 2007 Lars won the ‘Downbeat College Soloist Award’.